27 July, 2010

The Five Love Languages, by Gary Chapman

Subtitled “How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate,” this book will help you to discover your personal “love language” as well as to possibly identify the particular language of those around you. It describes how God has designed each of us to fell loved most and for simplicity’s sake divides these ways of feeling loved into five categories or “languages/” Learning these will help you in every relationship, not just marriage! (I believe it is a crucial part in gaining the heart of our children.) The five languages given are: Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Gifts, Acts of Service & Physical Touch.

I love how in marriage you are on a journey to always learn more about each other and how to express love and commitment to one another. This book is another helpful tool in doing that, and it can be kind of fun (Okay, frustrating when you can’t really pinpoint your own… ehem, the online resources are very helpful!). Even though I don’t like to be put in a box (and Dwight REALLY doesn’t), it isn’t meant to say you only should be loved a particular way but that rather there is a specific way that you KNOW you are loved upon experiencing. Clear as mud? You’ll just have to read the book. ;-)

Take the Quiz for yourself online!

* I have written this post due to my enjoyment of this book and have received no product or payment in compensation.

No comments:

Post a Comment